AAFA Endorsed Schools and Universities

The following schools have passed a rigorous curriculum review to receive AAFA’s endorsement. Students from these schools are eligible to compete for scholarships under AAFA’s contributions to the YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund (FSF) via the AAFA Education Foundation.

Since its creation in 1968, the AAFA Education Foundation has awarded scholarships to the sharpest, brightest, and most creative students in the academic world to achieve new heights in the fashion industry. In 2013 the AAFA Education Foundation began to contribute via the YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund (FSF) and in 2014 the Foundation established an endowment to contribute to the YMA FSF annually. Since that time, more than $1 million in scholarships has been awarded through 2018 — an average of more than $170k per year. Contact Maureen Storch to learn more about how you can help.

Auburn University

Karla Teel
Associate Professor
Department of Consumer and Design Sciences
363 Spidle Hall
Auburn University, AL  36849
Ph:  (334) 844-1345
E:  kteel@auburn.edu

Buffalo State

Lynn M. Boorady
Associate Professor and Chair,
Fashion and Textile Technology
1300 Elmwood Avenue
314 Upton Hall
Buffalo, NY  14222
Ph:  (716) 878-5716
E:  Booradlm@buffalostate.edu

Cal Poly Pomona

Dr. Muditha M Senanayake
Assistant Professor
AMM Dept.
3801 W. Temple Avenue
Pomona, CA  91768
Ph:  (909) 869-4227
E:  mudithas@cpp.edu

Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising

Roni Miller Start
Department Chair, Apparel Industry Management
919 South Grand Avenue
Los Angeles, CA  90015
Ph:  (213) 624-1200 x3119
E:  rmiller@fidm.edu

Fashion Institute of Technology

Mario Federici
Chair, Production in Fashion Management
227 W 27th St Rm B403
New York, NY  10001
Ph:  (212) 217-4774
E: Mario_federici@fitnyc.edu

George Brown College

Rosa Fracassa
Acting Chair, School of Fashion Studies, Centre for Arts, Design and Information Technology
160 Kendal Ave., Rooms C467 / C430
Toronto, ON  M5R 1M3
Ph:  (416) 415-5000 x2997
E:  rfracass@georgebrown.ca

Iowa State University

Eulanda Sanders
1052 LeBaron Hall
Ames, IA 50011
Ph: (515) 294-7857
E:  sanderse@iastate.edu

North Carolina State University

Kate Annett-Hitchcock
Assistant Professor
Textile and Apparel Technology and Management
College of Textiles, Box 8301
Raleigh, NC  27695
Ph:  (919) 515-0905
E:  kecarrol@ncsu.edu

Oklahoma State University

Diane Limbaugh
Clinical Instructor
Department of Design Housing & Merchandising
431 Human Sciences
Stillwater, OK 74074
Ph: (405) 744-5035
E: diane.morton@okstate.edu

Philadelphia University

Mark A. Sunderland
Robert J. Reichlin High-Performance Apparel Chair Director
MS Global Fashion Enterprise
4201 Henry Avenue
Philadelphia, PA  19144
Ph:  (215) 951-2979
E:  sunderlandm@philau.edu

University of Georgia

Greg Vessels
College of Family and Consumer Sciences
Athens, GA 30602-3622
Ph:  (706) 542-4884
E:  gvessels@uga.edu

University of North Carolina-Greensboro

Nancy (Nelson) Hodges, Ph.D.
Burlington Industries Professor and Head
210 Stone Building
P.O. Box 26170
Greensboro, NC  27402
Ph:  (336) 334-5250
E:  njnelson@uncg.edu

The University of Rhode Island

Susan Hannel
Chairperson, Associate Professor
Department of Textiles
55 Lower College Road, Quinn Hall
Kingston, RI 02881
Ph: (401) 323-1141
E: susanhannel@uri.edu